Vol 9 in the North Queensland Deserted towns series presents <em>North Qld Deserted Towns Vol 9: Bowen - Mackay - Townsville</em>. This book contains an immigrants description of early Bowen and the establishment of Townsville. Mari Yaamba Aboriginal mission on the Andromanche River at Proserpine, Mackay’s early sugar mills, Blackbirding, mining at Paluma, the Shrimp battery story, mining lease applications, as well as the Governors visit to Ingham. Argentine, Barratta, Blackwood, Dullawunna, East Wickham, Elphingstone, Ewan, Hillsborough, Kinnahaird and more.